Political heavyweights file nominations on Day 3

HSPDP women candidates Teilinia Thangkhiew (L)
and Grace Mary Kharpuri after filing their
nominations in the city on Friday.

SHILLONG: A total number of 87 candidates filed their nominations for both the KHADC and the JHADC on the third day on Friday.

55 nominations were filed for the KHADC while 32 people filed nominations for the JHADC election on Friday.

Prominent among those who filed their nominations for the KHADC election included incumbent Chief Executive Member Pynshngain N Syiem (Congress) from Mawsynram and Deputy CEM Remington Pyngrope (UDP) from Mawkynrew.

Sitting MDC and Deputy Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly Sanbor Shullai (NCP) filed his nomination from Laban-Mawprem, Teilinia Thangkhiew (HSPDP) filed her papers from Mylliem while Grace Mary Kharpuri (also HSPDP) filed her nomination from Nongshken constituency.

Sitting Nongkrem legislator Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit (HSPDP) filed his papers from the same constituency while former Meghalaya Democratic Party (MDP) president Martle N Mukhim submitted his papers to contest from Mawkynrew constituency as a HSPDP candidate.

Other women candidates who submitted their nominations include Meristila Wahlang (NCP) and Probety Nongpluh (KHNAM), both from Laitumkhrah-Malki constituency.

In Ri Bhoi, altogether ten candidates filed their nominations papers on Friday, including five from the UDP and two from HSPDP, besides three independents.

Sitting MDC from Mawhati Otril Pamshong, who was denied a Congress ticket, filed his papers as an independent candidate while five UDP candidates, led by former Minister and Ri Bhoi District party chief Donbok Khymdeit, filed their papers on Friday. The UDP candidates included Rona Khymdeit from Nongpoh, former KSU president Donkupar Sumer from the newly-created Umsning constituency, Kior Sing Hinge from Umroi, BK Tmung from Mawhati and Balawan Syiemiong from Jirang.

Others who filed their nominations included HSPDP candidates – Nosi Lyngdoh (Jirang) and P Sylliang (Umroi), and independent candidates Hilarius Marbaniang from Umsning and Albertus Lapang from Jirang.

Six intending candidates filed their nominations in West Khasi Hills District including four from UDP, one from HSPDP and Congress candidate Dr. Adviser Pariong, a former MLA from the constituency, who will contest for the Nongstoin seat.

Five candidates filed their nominations in South West Khasi Hills District. In Sohra Civil Sub-Division, three candidates filed their nomination from Shella constituency including sitting MDC and UDP candidate Teinwell Dkhar, Congress candidate Pynthmmaibor Chyne and KHNAM president Pyndapborthiaw Saibon.

Meanwhile, in the two districts of Jaintia Hills which registered zero nominations till Thursday, a total of 32 candidates filed their nominations on Friday for the election to the Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (JHADC). The candidates included 14 from the Congress, five from the HSPDP, three from the UDP, one from NCP and nine independents.

Among the aspirant candidates who filed their papers on Friday were JHADC Chief Executive Member Madonbai Rymbai, JHADC Chairman Obil Kyndait, Deputy Chairman Bhawansing Chyrmang and sitting Amlarem legislator Stephanson Mukhim, who filed his papers as an independent candidate from War East constituency.

Violet Lyngdoh, a former school teacher who quit her job to try her luck in politics, filed her papers from the Khliehriat-Rymbai Constituency as a UDP candidate and is pitted against former JHADC chief Hambertus Nongtdu (Congress). Five HSPDP candidates including former legislator H Britainwar Dann, retired Soil and Conservation Officer Lakhon Paul Sungoh, former MDC J Marbood Kyndiah, Moina Phyllut and Hederson Symblai also filed their papers on Friday.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.