Post office passport seva kendras in Tura, Baghmara

SHILLONG: The Ministry of External Affairs and the Department of Posts (DOP) have notified that Tura and Baghmara will function as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK).
The Government had notified several head post offices, and post offices in the country as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra for delivery of passport related services to the citizens of the country with the objective to extend passport related services on a larger scale and to ensure wider area coverage.
Out of 86 announced POPSKs, 52 POPSKs have become functional including one at Silchar, Assam under the first phase of the programme.
The Government is working closely for the operationalisation of passport related services at the remaining 34 POPSKs in the first phase.
Following the successful functioning of these POPSKs and the positive response received from the people, another 149 POPSKs has been announced to take the total number of POPSKs to 235 in the country including 13 POPSKs in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Meghalaya.
The places identified in these three states include Changlang, Tirap, Dhubri, Dibrugarh, Goalpara, Karbi Anglong, Kokrajhar, Mangaldoi, North Lakhimpur, Sonitpur and Tinsukia.
The Ministry of External Affairs has opened 14 Passport Seva Laghu Kendras (PSLK) after May 2014, including all the Northeastern states.
With the addition of 235 POPSKs, the total number of passport Seva Kendras including POPSKs to be added by the present Government for the benefit of the citizens would be 251.

error: Content is protected !!