Climate change vulnerability map for 12 Himalayan states developed

New Delhi: Researchers at IIT Guwahati, IIT Mandi and IISc Bengaluru have developed a climate change vulnerability map for 12 Himalayan states, including Meghalaya, in India that will help prioritise resource allocation to address these vulnerabilities.
The exercise is unique because for the first time all the 12 Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) States have used a common framework resulting in the production of comparable state level and within state, district level vulnerability maps, the team said in a statement.
The need for such an exercise is due to the fact that IHR is one of the most sensitive regions to climate change and variability, the project investigators said.
Most parts of the region underwent significant long-term changes in frequencies and intensity of extreme temperature and rainfall events over the last decades, they said.
Such comparable vulnerability assessments are useful for officials, implementers, decision makers, funding agencies and development experts, to have a common understanding on vulnerability.
The maps will enable them to assess which states in IHR are more vulnerable, what has made them vulnerable and how the government might address these vulnerabilities.
The results were presented here on Thursday during a workshop organised by IIT Guwahati and IIT Mandi with support from IISc Bengaluru and Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation.
The 12 states include Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, West Bengal, and Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and J&K. (PTI)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.