Five Assembly segments in Ri Bhoi to decide candidates

From Pynshngainlang N Syiem

NONGPOH: The elections to Lok Sabha this year from Shillong parliamentary seat seems to be a little different from the previous polls.
This time, the regional parties have come together to support a common candidate showing their unity against the national parties like the Congress and the BJP.
Unlike in the past, this time, the election to Shillong parliamentary seat has generated interest with the active participation of all the sitting legislators and the MDCs.
In Ri Bhoi district, which have five constituencies, Congress candidate, Vincent H Pala has the support of two Congress MLAs, Mayralborn Syiem from Nongpoh and George B Lyngdoh from Umroi constituency whereas the common candidate of the MDA , Jemino Mawthoh has the support of three MLAs, Jason Sawkmie Mawlong of the PDF from Umsning, Sosthenes Sohtun and Dasakhiatbha Lamare of the ruling NPP from Jirang and Mawhati constituencies respectively.
Results in last Assembly and District Council elections show that the Congress and NPP are major players in Ri Bhoi winning two seats each in the Assembly and District Council elections whereas the main regional party, the UDP has failed to retain even the prestigious Nongpoh constituency which was represented by Rona Khymdeit as MDC in the past.
As there are 1,64,734 voters in the district, Ri Bhoi alone can decide the fate of 6 candidates contesting the Lok Sabha elections this year, Jemino Mawthoh (UDP), Sanbor Shullai (BJP), Vincent H Pala (INC), Romeo Phira Rani (IND), Samuel Hashah (IND) and THS Bonney (IND).

error: Content is protected !!