BJP improves Assam tally to 9, allies draw blank

GUWAHATI: The BJP has won nine out of the total 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam whiele its alies regional Asom Gana Parishad and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) drew blank.

The Congress has won three seats while AIUDF won one. One seta has been won by Independent candidate.

The BJP has won Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Tezpur, Mangaldai, Gauhati, Autonomous District, Silchar and Karimganj.  The BJP has snatched Silchar from Congress and Karimganj from All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and increased its tally by two seats compared to seven seats it had own in the state in 2014.

The Congress has retained Kaliabor and snatched Nowgong from the BJP. It has also won in Barpeta,

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had retained Dhubi seat while Independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania has retained Kokrajhar (ST) seat.

Assam results as a glance

Party LS constituency Winning Candidate % of votes polled
BJP Autonomous District Horen Sing Bey 61.9
BJP Dibrugarh Rameswar Teli 64.92
BJP Gauhati Queen Ojha 57.09
BJP Jorhat Topon Kumar Gogoi 51.35
BJP Karimganj Kripanath Mallah 44.62
BJP Lakhimpur Pradan Baruah 60.40
BJP Tezpur Pallab Lochan Das 58.39
BJP Mangaldoi Dilip Saikia 48.44
BJP Silchar Rajdeep Roy 52.52
Congress Kaliabor Gaurav Gogoi 55.13
Congress Nowgong Pradyut Bardoloi 49.85
Congress Barpeta Abdul Khaleque 43.33
AIUDF Dhubri Badruddin Ajmal 43.18
Independent Kokrajhar Naba Kumar Sarania 32.83

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.