BJP snatches Karimganj from AIUDF in Assam

GUWAHATI: The BJP has snatched minority-dominated Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency in Assam  from All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF).

The BJP candidate Kripanath Mallah has defeated the sitting MP and AIUDF candidate Radheshyam Agarwalla by a margin of over 16000 votes.

It is morale boosting victory for BJP as Karimganj has been a stronghold of the AIUDF and formerly it was ruled by the Congress.

Meanwhile, BJP has taken unassailable lead in Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Jorhat , Mangaldai and Tezpur Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam.