Over 74 lakh voters to decide fate of 54 candidates in 3rd phase election in Assam

Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar constituencies go to poll on Tuesday


GUWAHATI: Over 74 lakh eligible electors are expected to decide the fate of 54 candidates in the fray in the four parliamentary constituencies of Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar in Assam where election will be held in the third phase of Lok Sabha election on Tuesday.

The exact figures of total voters in these four constituencies is 74,77,062, of which 38,15,335 are male, 36,61,570 are female and 157 belong to the third gender.

Of the total 54 candidates in the fray in the four constituencies of Assam going to the polls in the third phase, 17 candidates are in fray in Guwahati, 15 in Dhubri, 13 in Barpeta, and nine in Kokrajhar.

Polling will be held across 9,577 polling stations in the four Lok Sabha seats comprising total  40 Legislative Assembly Constituency (LAC) segments.

In the last parliamentary elections held in 2014, the BJP had emerged victorious from Guwahati and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had won from Barpeta and Dhubri, while the Kokrajhar seat had gone to an Independent candidate.

This election is expected to witness a keen contest  in Guwahati constituency is expected to be between the ruling BJP and  its arch rival Congress. Both Dhubri and Barpeta constituencies are likely to witness three-cornered contests between the Congress, the AIUDF and the AGP, the alliance partner of the BJP..

A triangular contest between sitting Independent MP Naba Kumar Sarania and the candidates of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), Promila Rani Brahma  and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), U G Brahma is expected in the Kokrajhar constituency.

The AIUDF and the UPPL have entered into a “political understanding” for the Dhubri, Barpeta and Kokrajhar constituencies. The AIUDF is supporting the UPPL candidates in Kokrajhar, the UPPL has extended support to the AIUDF in Dhubri and Barpeta.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.