Saturday, December 2, 2023

Nepal PM expands Cabinet


Share post:

Kathmandu: Nepalese Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai on Tuesday expanded his Cabinet with the induction of seven new ministers, including six from his own UCPN-Maoist party, and 19 state ministers, bringing the total strength to 46.

The newly-appointed ministers took the oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in the presence of President Rambaran Yadav.

Bhattarai expanded the Cabinet prior to his departure for Maldives to take part in the SAARC Summit. He inducted in his Cabinet six new ministers from UCPN-Maoist party, one from Sadbhawana Party-Anandidevi and 19 state ministers.

Now the total strength of the Cabinet has climbed to 46, including 19 state ministers.

According to the Prime Minister’s office, Maoist leader Dina Nath Sharma has been given the charge of the Ministry of Education, Lokendra Bista Magar got Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation and Bhim Prasad Sharma would lead the Ministry for Land Reforms and Management (MoLRM).

Another Maoist leader Satya Pahari will head the Ministry of Peace and Reconstruction while Ram Kumar Yadav and Kalpana Dhamala will lead the Ministry of General Administration and the Ministry of Science and Technology respectively.

Sarita Giri from the Sadvawana Party-Anandidevi has been given the charge of the Labour Ministry. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

As Ukraine War drags on, Russia prepares for a fifth Putin term

New Delhi, Dec 2:  Amid the conflict in Ukraine, Russia will head to polls in March 2024 to...

Amid violent protests, Bangla polls may further deepen political fault lines

New Delhi, Dec 2:  With Bangladesh’s parliamentary elections set for early January, the opposition’s push for the resignation...

Trio sentenced for plotting to kill Indian-origin Sikh radio host in New Zealand

Auckland, Dec 2: Three Sikh men have been sentenced in New Zealand for attempted murder of a popular...

Adhir’s letter on Ethics Committee proceedings against Mahua draws flak in Bengal Congress

Kolkata, Dec 2: Congress president in West Bengal, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury’s letter to Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla...