Monday, June 24, 2024

Govt to reduce women hostel rent for NE students


Share post:


NEW DELHI: To fill up the 501-bed working women hostel for students from north eastern region of India at Jasola in south Delhi, Union government and eight state governments from the region have decided to reduce its per month per bed rent from the current Rs 2,800 to Rs 1,500, according to a press release issued by Manipur government.

The Rs 1,300 difference would be paid by two ministeries of the Union government if the 8 state governments guarnateed 100 per cent occupancy of the hostel.

All 8 north eastern state governments would also have to commit a certain number of occupants on monthly basis and pay for shortfall,if any, also on monthly basis, the release said.Statewise quota of assured occupancy for the Jasola hostel has been fixed at 125 for Assam, 50 for Arunachal Pradesh, 75 for Sikkim, 25 for Meghalaya, 50 for Nagaland, 90 for Mizoram, 50 for Manipur which could go upto 200 , and 25 for Tripura.

Besides students, including those studying in coaching institutions, trainees, interns, and researchers based in Delhi, upto 30 per cent beds would be available to Delhi-based self-employed persons from the region.

The meeting, jointly chaired by Union Ministers of State for Child Development and the department for development of north eastern region (DoNER) and Parliamentary Affairs, was attended by resident commissioners of the north eastern states, the release added. (UNI)


Related articles

Now union seeks 15% quota for general category

Tura, June 24: The AMMSU from Garo Hills has urged the Expert Committee on the State Reservation Policy...

Workshop on ‘Child Trafficking’ held in Tura

Tura, June 24: A workshop relating to Campaign on Preventing and Combating "Child Trafficking 2:0 in 100 Bordering...

India-Bangladesh MoU on military education significant: Defence Ministry

New Delhi, June 24:  The Ministry of Defence said on Monday that the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed...

Gill named captain for Zimbabwe tour; Abhishek, Jurel, Reddy, Riyan, Deshpande earn maiden call-up

New Delhi, June 24: Abhishek Sharma, Dhruv Jurel, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have earned maiden...