Monday, June 24, 2024

MLA deputes lookalike to function


Share post:

(R) Umroi MLA Stanly Wiss Rymbai, (L) His lookalike C Kharkongor.

Shillong: In an unprecedented act, a Congress legislator in Meghalaya has been criticised by school authorities for sending his lookalike to attend a function as chief guest.

The incident occurred on December 12 at Nongsder village, about 25 Km from here when the Congress legislator Stanly Wiss Rymbai had deputed C Kharkongor whose facial appearance resembled the legislator to attend to a programme held at the Rolin Modern Secondary School, Nongsder.

The area near Umiam (Barapani) falls within Mr Rymbai’s Umroi Assembly constituency.

According to the school principal, Molina Lyngdoh, the school had organised a food fest on December 12 at Nongsder where it had also invited Rymbai to be the chief guest for the occasion.

”While it was uproarious, it was also a fact that Rymbai had sent a person who resembled him to attend the programme as chief guest,” Ms Lyngdoh said in a statement.

She said this had shocked many who were present on the occasion. The school principal also lambasted the Congress legislator, stating his absence from the programme showed that the he was least concerned about the people of his own constituency.

Nonetheless, Ms Lyngdoh thanked the legislator’s lookalike, although he was not from the same constituency, for making it to the programme even without proper intimation. (UNI)


Related articles

Now union seeks 15% quota for general category

Tura, June 24: The AMMSU from Garo Hills has urged the Expert Committee on the State Reservation Policy...

Workshop on ‘Child Trafficking’ held in Tura

Tura, June 24: A workshop relating to Campaign on Preventing and Combating "Child Trafficking 2:0 in 100 Bordering...

India-Bangladesh MoU on military education significant: Defence Ministry

New Delhi, June 24:  The Ministry of Defence said on Monday that the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed...

Gill named captain for Zimbabwe tour; Abhishek, Jurel, Reddy, Riyan, Deshpande earn maiden call-up

New Delhi, June 24: Abhishek Sharma, Dhruv Jurel, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have earned maiden...