Monday, February 26, 2024

KHNAM names 5 candidates


Share post:


District Council elections
SHILLONG: The Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) on Friday announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming District Council polls featuring five names including those of four sitting MDCs.
The list includes the names of sitting Nongthymmai MDC Latiplang Kharkongor, Mawkhar MDC James Ban Basaiawmoit and Jaiaw MDC Adelbert Nongrum.
Interestingly, the party has also named sitting Laitkroh MDC Carmel Sohtun as the candidate from the same constituency. However, as per the proposed delimitation of constituencies the KHADC is proposing to delete Laitkroh constituency to pave way for the creation of the Umsning constituency.
Besides, the sitting MDCs, the list also names Elphrin Lawai as the party’s candidate from Sohryngkham constituency.
KHNAM president Pyndapborthiaw Saibon said the party is   likely to release the second list around the second week of January next.
“There are over fourteen aspirants who have applied for the party ticket so far,” the KHNAM president said, adding, “The party is going to field candidates only in those constituencies where they are likely to win. We would not like to contest in those constituencies where the party’s prospects are not very bright.”
He asserted that the party would be very particular on the selection of candidates. “We would give tickets only those candidates who have high percentage of winning,” he said, while expressing confidence that his party would perform better in the upcoming election as compared to the last District Council polls.
Claiming that there was a negative wave against the Congress party across the State, the KHNAM president said, “Our party is sure that people of the State will vote against the Congress especially because of the adamant attitude of Chief Minister Dr. Mukul Sangma over the demand for implementation of Inner Line Permit (ILP) in the State.”
After the 2009 District Council polls, KHNAM had four MDCs including former party president Paul Lyngdoh, who has since joined the UDP.
Two other MDCs – James Ban Basaiawmoit and Latiplang Kharkongor – had also joined the UDP along with their party president when the two parties merged in 2012.
However, both Kharkongor and Basaiawmoit walked out of the UDP after being denied tickets to contest the last Assembly elections, despite assurance by the UDP leadership.
Incidentally, Laitkroh MDC Carmel Sohtun, who had won on a UDP ticket, joined KHNAM in November last, after deserting his earlier party.


Related articles

Oppenheimer dominates at SAG Awards; Bear, Succession also win

The recently held 30th edition of the annual Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards celebrated some of the standout...

Natalie Portman says she used to find dressing for awards ‘oppressive’

Actress Natalie Portman has shared that she used to find dressing up for awards ceremonies "oppressive". Since having...

Amy Schumer reveals Cushing syndrome diagnosis, that can cause weight gain

Comedian and actor Amy Schumer has opened up about her current health situation, revealing she has Cushing syndrome,...

Netflix picks up Oscar-nominated docu feature To Kill A Tiger

Netflix, reports Variety, has acquired Nisha Pahuja’s Oscar-nominated documentary feature To Kill a Tiger, which tells the story...