8 including woman in fray for Shillong

Tura to witness straight fight between Purno, Daryl

Independent candidates – Denis Siangshai and Mrs Alborina Shylla file their nomination papers for Shillong Lok Sabha seat on Saturday. (UB)

SHILLONG: Altogether eight candidates are in the fray, including three independents, in Shillong Lok Sabha seat, while in the Tura there will be a straight contest. The scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held on Monday.
On the last day of the filing of nominations, two independent candidates, Denis Siangshai and Iborina Shylla, submitted their nominations before the East Khasi Hills Deputy Commissioner for the Shillong seat. Among the others in the fray are contestants from Congress, UDP, BJP, CPI and Aam Admi Party. HSPDP – KHNAM supported PBM Basaiawmoit is contesting as an independent.
Denis Siangshai had earlier applied for a BJP ticket in Shillong but the party decided to put Shibun Lyngdoh. Denis Siangshai then decided to contest the election as an independent candidate.
Speaking to media persons after filing his nominations, Siangshai expressed confidence that the he would win, even as he said that the sitting MP had not done anything for the state. “If I win I will work for the cause of everyone,” he said.
Iborina Shylla said that she decided to contest the election since no women was contesting in the Lok Sabha election though many women had contested in the Assembly election.
“Meghalaya is crying since people are being harassed in border areas and so I decided to leave my kitchen and contest the elections,” she told reporters even as she slammed former Governor RS Mooshahary saying that he should have felicitated student unions who were working for the state.
Meanwhile, the Tura seat is set to witness a straight fight between veteran NPP leader PA Sangma and young Congress leader Daryl Sangma since only two nominations have been filed for the Tura seat.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.