Arunachal: EC directs fresh polls in two more polling stations

Itanagar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has directed repolling at two polling stations in two Assembly Constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh to be held on May 14.

The fresh poll will be taken in Richik polling station under 20-Tali (ST) and Chulla center under 21-Koloriang Assembly Constituencies, according to an order issued by the Election Commission of India on Sunday.

The EC had conducted repolling for 34 polling stations in 7 Assembly segments in the state on April 19.

Arunachal Pradesh went to polls on April 9 to elect candidates for two Parliamentary and 49 seats Assembly seats.

It might be recalled that the Commission had announced 11 INC candidates as winner uncontested following withdrawal of candidatures by the opposition party nominees on March 26.

The polling party shall be headed by at least an ARO who shall also function as the presiding officer of a polling station for these re-polls, the Commission directed.

These officers, who would work as presiding officers will also be designated as AROs for counting on Maay 16 for these assemblies & Parliamentary Constituencies, the order said.

Adequate security arrangements shall be made for polling & counting process during the repolls and also for the polling teams conducting these repolls. (UNI)

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.