NPP MDC resigns over ticket allotment for Rongjeng seat


TURA: The deputy chairman in the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council and sitting National People’s Party (NPP) Member District Council (MDC) from Darugre constituency of Rongjeng in east Garo Hills, Mettrinson G Momin, has resigned from the party over ticket allotment for next year’s assembly elections.

The NPP is expected to officially announce the name of Jim Sangma as the party candidate to contest from Rongjeng Assembly constituency.

The sitting MDC, Momin was one of the top contenders for the NPP ticket and had already begun his campaign for the upcoming polls.

“I was informed by NPP President Conrad K Sangma that the ticket was being given to Jim Sangma. Though I asked him to reconsider he said that it was a collective decision taken by the party. So I have decided to resign and contest as an Independent,” said Mettrinson G Momin while speaking to The Shillong Times on Saturday.

Following the decision of the NPP not to back his candidature, Mettrinson Momin called for a meeting of his supporters who on Friday attended in large numbers urging upon him to contest as an Independent.

He will be pitted against sitting Congress MLA Sengnam Marak, Jim Sangma of the NPP, BJP candidate Rikman G Momin, Barthush Sangma of the UDP, Raphius Sangma, former MLA and NCP candidate Desang Sangma, Janseng Sangma and Walseng Sangma.

With the resignation of Momin, the number of NPP MDCs in the district council has been reduced to eight in a house of 29 elected members. In the last district council elections held in 2015, the NPP emerged as the single largest party by winning in ten constituencies. Its main opposition Congress came second with seven seats while the GNC bagged three, the BJP one  and the rest went to Independents.

The first NPP MDC to switch over was sitting chairman Boston Marak who deserted the party to join the Congress to become the chief executive member (CEM).


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.