Fresh polls conducted in 4 Assam booths across 3 LACs

GUWAHATI, April 20: Fresh elections conducted in four polling stations across three legislative Assembly constituencies of Assam – Haflong, Ratabari and Sonai – passed off smoothly amid tight security arrangements on Tuesday.

Polling started at 7am at the polling booths and ended by 6pm.

The voter turnout by close of voting (6pm) at the 463-Madhya Dhanehari LP School polling booth under Sonai constituency in Cachar district was the highest at 81.01 percent while the polling percentage at the 149-Indira MV School (right) polling station under Ratabari constituency in Karimganj district was recorded at 58.67 percent.

The polling percentage at 107A-Khothlir LP School and 107-Mualdam LP School polling stations under Haflong legislative constituency in Dima Hasao district was recorded at 66.67 percent and 59.25 percent respectively.

“According to the electoral rolls, there are 706 voters (in the two polling booths of which 62.96 percent turned out to vote today,” an official statement said.

Voting in the four polling booths during the second phase of the state Assembly elections on April 1, 2021 was declared void by the Election Commission of India (ECI) following anomalies and EVM-related discrepancies, and subsequently, fresh polls were declared.


Attachments area

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.