New EMs take charge in GHADC

TURA, June 10: The new Executive Members (EMs) of the NPP-led Executive Committee in the GHADC have assumed charge of their portfolios with seven hailing from the NPP, while two Independents and one BJP and GNC member were too rewarded for their support to the new leadership in the autonomous body.
While Chief Executive Member (CEM) Benedic R Marak retains the departments of Planning, Personnel, General Administration, Customs and Usages among others, his deputy CEM from the Garo National Council Nikman Ch Marak has been allocated the all-important portfolio of Land and Revenue, Relief and Rehabilitation and others. Dormonath Ch Sangma has been allocated Haat, Brick and sand markets while EM Henen R Sangma has taken charge of Tourism, Reformation and Coordination. ( Independent Nathawal S Marak has been allocated Civil Works and Administration of Justice. Another Independent Arbinstone B Marak has been allocated Forests and Environment, Water Conservation and Catchment Area Development and Jhum Control.
Crozier G Momin of the NPP has been allocated Transport, Printing and Stationary.
The lone BJP MDC to make it to the Executive Member position (EM) Promod Koch from Dalu has been given Agriculture, Sports and Youth Affairs and Sand Market.
Two brothers-in-law of Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, who overcame stiff contest from the Congress to win the Council elections — Grahambell A Sangma in Jengjal and Anseng A Sangma in Asanang — have also been made Executive Members.
While Grahambell has been allocated the important revenue-generating Taxation and Water Resources department, Anseng Sangma has been given Rural Development, Arts and Culture and Resource Mobilisation.
The last NPP to make it to the EM position is Sengbath R Marak who has been given Rural Administration, Ferry Ghats and Fisheries.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.