Assam cops to be honoured

GUWAHATI, Aug 14: Twenty-three police personnel from Assam, including top police officials, will be honoured for their bravery and distinguished service to the country with prestigious police medals on the occasion of the Independence Day on Monday.
The awards are divided into three categories which include Police Medal for Gallantry, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service.
Among them, eight Assam police personnel will be conferred with the “Police Medal for Gallantry” on the occasion of the Independence Day.
The police personnel nominated for the honour are John Das (sub divisional police officer), Jitumoni Deka (sub inspector), Bitupan Chutia (sub inspector), Achyut Nath (sub inspector), Sambhu Ronghang (lance naik), Hondor Sing Tokbi (constable), Greatson Marak (constable) and Sambor Rongpi (constable).
Himangshu Das, assistant commissioner of police, Guwahati, will be conferred with the “President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.”
Moreover, 14 Assam Police personnel will be awarded with the “Police Medal for the Meritorious Service”.
They are Diganta Kumar Choudhury, deputy commissioner of police (central), police commissionerate, Guwahati; Biraj Das, superintendent of police (APRO, Ulubari); Amrit Chandra Kalita, DSP, (Chief Minister’s Special Vigilance Cell, Guwahati); Ashim Borah, inspector (UB, Tinsukia); Jayanta Kumar Barman, inspector, (UB, CID, Guwahati); Debendra Nath Das, assistant sub inspector, (UB, CID, Guwahati), Purna Chandra Das (Lance Naik, 1st ATPF Battalion, Dakurbhita); Kamal Chetry, lance naik (Karbi Anglong); Khargeswar Nath, lance naik (9th AP Battalion, Barhampur); Dipak Bhuyan, lance naik (9th AP Battalion, Barhampur); Dandadhar Brahma, constable (UB SP office, Baksa); Ranjit Sarmah, constable (UB Police Reserve, Nalbari); Junmoni Kurmi, constable (UB, Police Reserve, Tinsukia) and Dipali Gogoi, constable (AB, CID Ulubari).
The Assam police personnel are among the 1,082 police personnel who will be honoured on the occasion.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.