Thursday, April 25, 2024

Sports Snippets


Share post:


AIFF member Deepak Sharma released on bail in assault case
Panaji, March 31: All India Football Federation executive committee member Deepak Sharma, who was arrested by Goa police for allegedly physically assaulting two women players, was released on bail on Sunday, an official said. Sharma was arrested by the Mapusa police here on Saturday after two female players of Himachal Pradesh-based Khad FC filed a complaint against him. Deputy Superintendent of Police (Mapusa) Sandesh Chodankar told PTI that since the sections under which Sharma was booked were bailable, he was released after producing the surety. Chodankar said Sharma could not get the surety on Saturday due to which he was kept in police custody after being put through medical examination. Two footballers of Khad FC, taking part in the Indian Women’s Football (IWL) League second division in Goa, had alleged that club owner Sharma had barged into their room and physically assaulted them on the night of March 28. A group of players, however, had claimed that Sharma was innocent. Sharma is also the secretary-general of the Himachal Pradesh Football Association. (PTI)

Hardik and Salima win HI Player of the Year awards
New Delhi, March 31: Star Indian midfielders Hardik Singh and Salima Tete were on Sunday conferred with the Player of the Year awards in men and women categories respectively during the sixth Hockey India Annual Awards here. Both the awards, in the name of legendary Balbir Singh Sr, carries a cash prize of Rs 25 lakh each. India vice-captain Hardik also bagged Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year, which carries a prize purse of Rs 5 lakh. India captain Harmanpreet Singh won the Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year and took home Rs 5 lakh, while veteran custodian PR Sreejesh was honoured with the Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year. Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year went to young striker Abhishek. Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women, Under-21) was bagged by Deepika Soreng, while the recognition in the men’s division, which is in the name of former India drag-flicker Jugraj Singh, went to Araijeet Singh Hundal. Both the awards carry a prize money of Rs 10 lakh each. The final award of the day, the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award, which carries a prize money of Rs 30 lakh, was won by his son, Ashok Kumar. The Indian men’s team was also honoured for its gold medal-winning performance at the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022, China, with a cash prize of Rs 5 Lakh for each player and Rs 2.5 lakh each for the support staff. The Indian women’s team that won the bronze in the tournament were also awarded Rs 3 lakh for each player and Rs 1.5 lakh for each member of the support. (PTI)


Related articles

Akhilesh Yadav files nomination from Kannauj LS seat

Kannauj, April 25:  Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav, on Thursday, filed his nomination papers from the Kannauj Lok...

Mahadev betting scam: Actress Tamannaah Bhatia summoned by Maha Police

Mumbai, April 25: Bollywood actress Tamannaah Bhatia has been summoned by the Maharashtra Cyber Police for the ongoing...

IAF’s remotely piloted aircraft crashes in Jaisalmer, probe ordered

Jaipur, April 25: An Indian Air Force aircraft crashed in Jajia village near Jaisalmer in Rajasthan, confirmed officials...

Kotak Bank promoter donated electoral bonds worth Rs 60 cr, but RBI cracks down on lender to protect customers

New Delhi, April 24: Infina Finance, one of the promoter group entities of Kotak Mahindra Bank which was...