Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Cong chief Mallikarjun Kharge to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony


Share post:


New Delhi, June 9 : Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge will attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony on Sunday evening.

Kharge will attend the ceremony in his capacity as the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

The decision was taken after holding talks with other INDIA bloc partners, said sources.

PM Modi is set to take the oath on Sunday at 7.15 p.m. Sources have said that some members of the Council of Ministers will also take oath.

The ceremony will be attended by leaders from India’s neighbourhood and Indian Ocean region.

These are Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Seychelles Vice-President Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, and Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay.

In addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a Banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan.



Related articles

Union Budget gives major push to job creation with focus on youth, women & farmers

New Delhi, July 23: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Monday presented the Union Budget 2024 in Parliament on...

Assam, Sikkim among states to get flood devastation relief: FM Sitharaman

New Delhi, July 23: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman announced financial assistance for the Himalayan states of Himachal Pradesh,...

Union Budget 2024: Govt announces over Rs 3 lakh crore for schemes benefiting women & girls

New Delhi, July 23: Focussing on women-led development, the government on Tuesday announced more than Rs 3 lakh...

Union Budget: Boost to youth empowerment, women in workforce

New Delhi, July 23: As Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman presented her seventh Budget on Tuesday, among several...