Sunday, July 14, 2024

MCA shortlists names for historic BCCI domestic season


Share post:


Shillong, July 3: The 2024-25 BCCI domestic season will be an historic one for the Meghalaya senior men’s team and the Meghalaya Cricket Association has revealed a shortlist of 30 players for the campaign ahead.
The season will be historic as Meghalaya have qualified for the Elite Category of the Ranji Trophy 2024-25 based on their runners-up finish to the Plate Group in 2023-24, an outstanding achievement that was even more impressive given that Meghalaya employed only domiciled cricketers, thereby relinquishing the right to use guest players from outside the state.
This season the first-class Ranji Trophy will be the first major tournament for the Meghalaya senior men’s team, with the start scheduled for 11 October. Then will follow the T20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy from 23 November and the one day Vijay Hazare Trophy from 21 December.
The MCA, following the recommendation of the ad hoc selection committee, has shortlisted 30 players for the season ahead based on their 2023-24 domestic record and their performances in the selection matches that were recently held in Jagiroad, Assam. The MCA will conduct selection-cum-preparatory camps before the aforementioned tournaments one month prior to the start date and, in the meantime, the players have been advised to stay fit in practice and training and to update the MCA on their progress.
The shortlist covers a range of cricket experience, from veterans like Wallambok Nongkhlaw to youngsters who shone in the U-23 tournaments last season like Nishanta Chakraborty. Also included are the stalwarts from last year’s Ranji campaign, such as Kishan Lyngdoh, Dippu Sangma and Akash Kumar Chaudhary.
The 2024-25 BCCI domestic season marks a historic milestone for the Meghalaya senior men’s cricket team.
MCA Senior Men’s shortlisted players: Chaman Pushp, Swarajeet Das, Aryan Borah, Bijon Dey, Nishanta Chakraborty, Jaskirat Singh Sachdeva, Adarsh Joshi, Kishan Lyngdoh, Arpit Bhatewara, Bamanbha Shangpliang, Himan C Phukan, Shambhalang Pyngrope, Wallambok Nongkhlaw, Anish Charak, Arbin Singh, Sylvester Mylliempdah, Riboklang Hynniewta, Rohit Shah, Akash Kumar Chaudhary, Ram Gurung, Robert Sangma, Pankaj Mandal, Roshan Warbah, Dippu Sangma, Ibitlang Thabah, Arien Bonchang Sangma, Yogesh Tiwari, Md Nafees Siddique, Chengkam Sangma, Lerry Sangma.


Related articles

Watching sports is good for you

Being a sports fan, whether you’re watching top flight football, the Olympic games or your favourite local team,...

Sleep tourism promises the trip of your dreams

Imagine arriving at your hotel after a long flight and being greeted by your own personal sleep butler....

How was popcorn discovered?

You have to wonder how people originally figured out how to eat some foods that are beloved today....

Justice Tashi Rabstan-ko M’laya High Court-ni CJ seoka

NEW DELHI: Supreme Court, Justice Tashi Rabstan-ko Meghalaya High Court-ni Chief Justice seokna bimingko minga-taha. “Justice Tashi Rabstan, Jammu...