Tanushree Das Gupta, Bivek Das star in TT C’ship

SHILLONG: The 30th Meghalaya State Table Tennis Championship concluded in Tura on October 17. More than 150 players participated and 19 events were held in the three-day event.

The 13-year-old Tanushree Das Gupta stole the show, winning the sub junior (Under-15), junior (U-18), youth (U-21) and women’s singles titles. In addition, Tanushree won the four doubles events to end as the winner of all eight events she participated in.

Her doubles partners were Camelia Diengdoh in the sub junior and Medhavi Chhetri in the junior, youth and women’s events.

Another noteworthy performance came from another 13-year-old, Bivek Das, who won the sub junior, junior and youth boys titles and was runner up in the men’s singles. He also won three doubles titles, finishing second in another, the youth boys doubles, which was won by T Yogesh Singh and Pritvi Dey.

Bivek partnered with Anubhav Dutta in the sub junior, junior and youth events and with Jitendra Gareri in the men’s doubles.

Evergreen Kyrshanborlang Ranee won the men’s singles and Netra S Sangma bagged the cadet girl’s title.

Chesan H Marak and Netra S Sangma were winners in the cadet (U-12) boys and girls section, respectively, and N Bhattacharjee won the men’s veterans event for the over-45s.

Chesan and Anwesha Choudhury were declared to be the most promising boy and girl, respectively.

Meghalaya’s representatives in the forthcoming national table tennis championships will be determined from the results of this tournament.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.