58 elected legislators take oath

By Our Reporter

SHILLONG: Except Congress member Ngaitlang Dhar (Umroi) who is ill, all the newly elected legislators to the 9th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly took oath on Thursday at the temporary Assembly at Rilbong.

The Pro tem Speaker Rowell Lyngdoh administered the oath to the legislators.

Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma was the first one to take oath followed by others including the oldest legislator in the new Assembly, HS Lyngdoh (84) and the youngest Rophul S Marak (33). Others included former Chief Ministers – SC Marak, DD Lapang and Donkupar Roy.

NCP legislator, Sanbor Shullai uttered an additional word Jai Hind after he took oath resulting in peals of laughter in the House.

After she took oath, Ampareen Lyngdoh whispered to the Assembly Secretary to correct her name as Dr Ampareen since the prefix of ‘Dr’ was missing when she was called to take oath.

While three women legislators – Roshan Warjri, Dikkanchi D Shira and Deborah Marak – took oath in their traditional dresses (jainsem and dakmanda respectively), Ampareen wore a coat and trouser during the ceremony.

Among the male legislators, Kennedy Khyriem spotted a turban (jaiñspong) and the traditional white shawl (ryndia) on his shoulder while Ronnie V Lyngdoh put on the traditional ryndia.

The microphone put before the legislators was an irritant throughout the oath taking ceremony.

As the noise was unbearable during the ceremony, some staff of the Assembly rushed to the operators of the microphone, but in vain.

There are as many as 28 new legislators in the current Assembly.

The election of the Assembly Speaker will be held on Monday.

Congress legislator from Phulbari, Abu Taher Mondal, is set to be elected as the new Speaker.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.