Sunday, June 16, 2024

Rio to flag off Nagaland Express train on Tuesday


Share post:


Kohima: The much-awaited ‘Nagaland Express’, that would run between Dimapur and Kamakhya, near Guwahati, would be flag off by Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio at the Dimapur railway station on November 15.

Official sources here today said the Nagaland Express- 15669 Up and 15670 Down, was in the last Railway Budget announced by then Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee and the date of starting of the train was announced by present Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi during his visit to the state on September 11 last as the Christmas gift to Nagaland. Sources said that the Nagaland Express train will have one AC 2-tier, one AC 3-tier, 4 sleeping Class, 5 general second class and 13 coaches of SLR.

The booking of tickets would start from tomorrow. Rhe train would depart Dimapur railway station at 0630 hours and will reach Guwahati railway station at 1110 hours and Kamakhya railway station at 1200 hours. The train will leave Kamakhya station at 2310 hours and will reach Dimapur at 0520 hours.

The train is supposed to cover the distance between Dimapur and Guwahati in 4 hours 40 minutes.

The flag off ceremony on Tuesday next will be attended by Nagaland Rajya Sabha Member C M Chang, Lok Sabha Member Khekiho Zhimomi, MLAs from Dimapur and officials from North East Frontier Railway (NFR), sources said. (UNI)


Related articles

Plea in SC seeks scrapping of NEET exam

New Delhi, June 15: A plea has been filed in the Supreme Court seeking scrapping of the NEET-UG...

UDP submits eight crucial observations

RESERVATION POLICY REVIEW By Our Reporter SHILLONG, June 15: The United Democratic Party (UDP) has submitted eight key observations to...

NPP reviews Lok Sabha poll setback; focus on Gambegre

By Our Reporter SHILLONG, June 15: The ruling National People’s Party (NPP) convened on Saturday to analyse its recent...

State BJP keen to field Bernard for Gambegre bypoll

By Our Reporter SHILLONG, June 15: State BJP vice president and Tura MDC, Bernard N Marak, confirmed on Saturday...