NCP finalises seven more candidates

By Our Reporter

SHILLONG: The State NCP on Monday declared the names of seven more candidates for the 2013 Assembly election in Meghalaya.

The seven names include sitting legislator Sanbor Shullai from South Shillong (previously Laban), Shimbor Diengngan from Mawshynrut, Mihnnyngkong Sutnga from Railang, David Ch Sangma from South Tura, Sader Hussain from Phulbari, Cornelius Nongbri from Ranikor, Clement Momin from Ampati and Thomas Sangma from North Tura.

Clement Momin will fight against Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma from the Ampati seat.

Shimbor Diengngan, Mihnnyngkong Sutnga and David Ch Sangma are contesting the election for the first time.

Leader of Opposition and NCP leader Conrad Sangma said that the party so far has announced 27 names and another list of candidates would be announced in two weeks’ time.

According to Sangma, tickets are being issued to those candidates who have a chance of winning the election.

Interestingly, NCP stalwart Purno A Sangma is yet to apply for the party ticket.

Meanwhile, Conrad took a dig at the Congress party, challenging it to come out with the names of candidates.

“There is total confusion in the Congress and this is the reason why they are not announcing the names,” he said.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.