Three passengers killed, 34 injured

By Our Reporter

 SHILLONG: Three persons lost their lives and 34 others injured when a Guwahati-bound night bus (ASO1CC – 4009) skidded off the road when the driver lost control at Mawblei on the outskirts of Shillong early Monday morning.

According to police, the ill-fated bus, which was on its way from Silchar, fell into a gorge near the MUDA parking lot at Mawblei.

The deceased have been identified as Gopal Barman (21) from Govindapur- Assam, Bahar Udin Barbhuiyan (29) from Lakhipur-Naulupur in Assam and Banaram Choudry (50) from Bardtan bazaar in Itanagar.

Gopal Barman died on the spot while Bahar Udin Barbhuiyan succumbed to his injuries in the hospital and Banaram Choudry died on his way to hospital.

There were 41 passengers in the bus, police said adding that a few passengers got down in Mawblei just before the accident took place.

According to driver of the vehicle, Loket Sharma, who was also injured, a technical snag resulted the accident.

Meanwhile, the East Khasi hills deputy commissioner Sanjay Goyal and Additional District Magistrate (ADM) DM Wahlang visited the Shillong Civil Hospital where the injured were undergoing treatment.

All the injured persons have been identified by their family members on Monday except one, Mahadev Sarkar (28) alias Madu Sarkar, son of Salini Sarkar of Tilatuli, Assam.

“Words have been sent to the latter’s family members but no one has turned up yet”, Wahlang said adding that the person was in a semi-conscious state.

Among the injured persons, one Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel of the 10th Battalion identified as Nurul Hussain Ahmed (29) was later referred to the Shillong Military Hospital.

Some injured persons have also been referred to Woodland Hospital, NEIGRIHMS and Guwahati whereas three others with minor injuries have been discharged.

Some of injured persons who have been shifted by 108 emergency ambulances have been identified as Rimpi Sharma (9years/female), Amarjeet Sharma (5years/male), Babul Singh (46years/male), Shukla Sharma (28years/male), Bibi Sinha (50years/male), Ranjeet Sinha (20years/male), Kishore Kumar (27years/male), Sihab Udin (26years/male), Najim Udin Chowdhury (28years/male), Mahadev Sarkar (28years/male), Sumpi Sharma (17years/female), Kashrul Lashkar (32years/male), Badal Islam Lashkar (27years/male), Paokholein Keivom (33years/male), Madhu Sudhan (34years/male), Fiborbhuiya (38years/male), Sahab Udin (26years/male), Deepak Kumar (39years/male) and Akoigan Metei (28years/male).

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.