Thursday, February 22, 2024

42 political appointees under MUA-II regime


Share post:


By Our Reporter

 SHILLONG: The Congress-led MUA-II Government in the State has not awarded ‘Chief Minister’ status to any of the former chief ministers who have been appointed as chairmen of the various corporations and public sector undertakings.

As per the latest list of political appointees, two former chief ministers – DD Lapang and Salseng C Marak – have been awarded the rank and status of cabinet ministers.

While Lapang has been appointed as the Chief Adviser to the State Government besides being nominated as Chairman of the State Government Programme Implementation and Monitoring Committee, Marak has been appointed as the Chairman of the State Planning Board.

After taking over as the Chief Minister for the second consecutive term, Dr Mukul Sangma has given his assent to as many as 42 political appointees, which include several sitting Congress and Independent legislators who are supporting the Government.

The MLAs who were neither accorded Cabinet berth nor appointed as parliamentary secretaries have been inducted as chairmen or vice chairmen.

Prominent names whose names figure in the list of political appointees include Mawsynram legislator and KHADC CEM Pynshngaiñlang N Syiem (Congress) who has been appointed as Chairman of the Meghalaya Economic Development Council; Ranikor legislator Martin M Danggo (Congress) who has been appointed as Chairman of the State Level Public Grievances Committee and also Chairman of the Meghalaya Industrial Development Corporation.

Mylliem legislator Ronnie V Lyngdoh (Congress) has been appointed as Chairman of the Meghalaya Government Construction Corporation Limited while first-time Congress MLA from Umroi, Ngaitlang Dhar, has been appointed as Chairman of the Meghalaya Commission on Resource Mobilization.

Former HNLC chairman and Independent legislator from Mawhati, Julius Dorphang, has been appointed as Chairman of the Meghalaya Khadi and Village Industries Board.

As expected, former MLAs who failed to win from their respective constituencies in the Assembly election held in February, have also been accommodated as chairmen and deputy chairmen of various corporations and public sectors undertakings. Prominent names in this list include that of former Rajya Sabha member OL Nongtdu who has been appointed as Chairman of the Mawmluh Cherra Cement Limited and former Assembly Speaker Charles Pyngrope who has been appointed as Chairman of the Forest Development Corporation of Meghalaya.

Interestingly, Additional Advocate General of Meghalaya, BP Todi, has been appointed as Chairman of the State Task Force for Resource Mobilization.

It may be mentioned that there has been instances in the past when Meghalaya had more than 45 ministers in the House of 60 prior to the downsizing of the Cabinet.

After the strength of the ministry was cut down to 12, a trend began where those legislators who could not be accommodated as ministers got placement in various boards and corporations with perks and allowances equivalent to that of a cabinet minister or ministers of state.


Related articles

Meghalaya opposition condemns ‘harassment’ of nun in Assam

Shillong, Feb 22: The Opposition in Meghalaya Assembly has expressed serious concern over the ‘harassment’ of a nun...

Manoj Bajpayee-starrer ‘The Fable’ played to packed house at Berlin Film Fest

Shillong, February 22: National Award-winning actor Manoj Bajpayee’s new film 'The Fable', which is directed by Raam Reddy,...

Merchants across India continue to use Paytm and its pioneering devices

Shillong, February 22: One 97 Communications Limited (OCL), that owns financial services major Paytm, has received immense support...

Israel foreign ministry to distribute Hamas atrocities report globally

Shillong, February 22: Israel‘s foreign ministry will distribute globally a report of the Association of Aid Centers for...