Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Lal Thanhawla takes oath as Mizoram Chief Minister for fifth time


Share post:


Aizawl: A Congress government led by Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla assumed office Saturday in Mizoram for a second consecutive term, after the party swept 34 of the state’s 40 assembly seats – two more than in 2008.
Governor Vakkom B. Purushothaman administered oath of office and secrecy to Thanhawla and his 11 ministerial colleagues at a glittering ceremony at Raj Bhavan. Seven of the ministers are of cabinet rank, while the rest are ministers of state.
The Swearing-in Ceremony started after the Chief Secretary L. Tochhawng sought the permission for the proceedings to begin, from the Governor.
Thereafter, the Governor administered the Oath of Office and Secrecy to the Chief Minister Pu Lal Thanhawla and his 11 member Council of Ministers.
Among the Council of Ministers sworn in on Saturday, R Lalzirliana; R Romawia; Lalsawta;  H Rohluna;  Zodintluanga; PC Lalthanliana and John Rotluangliana were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers while  Lal Thanzara; Lalrinmawia Ralte;  C Ngunlianchunga and Dr. B D Chakma were sworn in Ministers of State, after being administered the Oath of Office & Secrecy by the Governor Shri Vakkom Purushothaman.
The Swearing-in-Ceremony was attended by ex- Chief Minister Shri Zoramthanga; Eduardo Falerio, AICC Member; Shri Hemanta Biswa Sarma, Health Minister, Assam; C. L Ruala MP, Lok Sabha; several ex-Ministers; elected MLAs  of the 7th Mizoram Legislative Assembly and ex-MLA and a host of other dignitaries and high ranking officials.
Immediately after assuming office, Thanhawla said that his government’s priorities would be increasing power generation in the state, expediting hydropower projects and improving road connectivity, besides developing other basic infrastructure.
“The solution of the unemployment problem and other social issues would be the other matter of priority for my government,” he told reporters.
This is the sixth time that the Congress has come to power in the mountainous state. The party has had consecutive terms twice in Mizoram, a state which shares borders with Myanmar and Bangladesh.
In the Nov 25 Mizoram assembly elections, results of which were declared Dec 9, the Congress bagged 34 of 40 seats, leaving the opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) with only five seats. One seat went to the Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC).
Thanhawla, 71, who assumed the chief minister’s office for a fifth term Saturday, won from two assembly seats — Serchhip and Hrangturzo (both in central Mizoram) — defeating his MNF and MPC rivals respectively.
Also the state Congress chief, former journalist Thanhawla who established the party’s base in the Christian-dominated and tribal majority northeastern state in the 1970s, has been elected to the assembly for a record ninth time since 1978.
The first session of the newly constituted seventh Mizoram assembly will begin from Monday.
An official notification issued here said that the newly-elected legislators, who won the Nov 25 assembly election, would be sworn-in by the pro tem speaker.
The governor would give his customary address to the house Tuesday.
This term will be Lal Thanhawla’s fifth term as Chief Minister of Mizoram.
He became the Chief Minister of Mizoram for the first time on 5th May 1984 and continued his first term in office till 20th August 1986.
His second term lasted from 1989 – 1993; third term from 1993 – 1998 and fourth term from 2008 – 2013.
This term will also mark his 9th term as an MLA. He was elected as an MLA in 1978, 1979, 1984, 1987, 1989, 1993, 2003 and 2008. (IANS with inputs from Agencies)


Related articles

J&K Muslim Conference’s both factions declared unlawful associations

Srinagar, Feb 28: A day after extending the ban on the local Jamaat-e-Islami, the Centre on Wednesday declared...

National Science Day observed in Tura  

  Tura, Feb 28: National Science Day, commemorating the groundbreaking discovery of the Raman Effect by Indian physicist Sir...

60 pc area under illegal poppy cultivation reduced in Manipur in 3 years: Governor

Imphal, Feb 28: Manipur Governor Anusuiya Uikey said on Wednesday that 3,010 acres of illicit poppy cultivation have...

Assam Cong leader slams Cabinet’s decision to scrap Muslim marriage Act

Guwahati, Feb 28: Assam Congress leader Debabrata Saikia on Wednesday slammed the Assam Cabinet’s recent decision to repeal...