UDP announces names of six more candidates

SHILLONG: The UDP on Friday released its second list of the party candidates for the District Council elections in the State scheduled on February 24.
UDP state election committee (SEC) secretary, Alan Franklin Dkhar announced the names on Friday which include – Balawan Syiemiong from Jirang constituency, Biolkingstar Timung from Mawhati, Donkupar Sumer from Umsning, former MDC David Kharsati from Sohryngkham, sitting MDC Teinwell Dkhar from Shella and Hadrian Lyngdoh from Mawkyrwat.
So far, the UDP has announced names of 12 candidates. The party aspires to put up candidates in all the 29 seats in the KHADC.
“We will release the names of the party candidates for the remaining 17 constituencies in KHADC shortly,” Dkhar said, while explaining that the delay was because the party was unable to finalise the name of the candidate since there were more than two contenders for the ticket in several constituencies.
He informed that the party was yet to decide its candidates in Langrin, Laban-Mawprem, Umroi and Mawsynram constituencies.
“We hope to resolve the issue at the earliest. We want to allot the ticket to those candidates who have better prospects of winning the election,” Dkhar said.
Dkhar also informed that the UDP would shortly announce the names of its candidates for the JHADC polls at one go.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.