Defectors all set to find place in Syiem’s EC

I switched side for sake of stability: Grace Mary lCEM to submit list of EMs to Guv on Monday

SHILLONG: Defectors dominate the list of probables to be inducted in the Executive Committee of the KHADC to be headed by the newly-elected CEM Pynshngain N Syiem.
The four defectors — James Sylliang, Grace Mary Kharpuri, Process T Sawkmie and Hadrian Lyngdoh who left ARPA to associate themselves with the Congress-led People’s Democratic Front (PDF) — are assured of a place in the new Executive Committee, a highly placed source said on Saturday.
Sawkmie, former KHNAM MDC from Mawlai, will be given the post of Deputy CEM.
Besides the four defectors, Congress MDCs to be included in the EC are Pynursla MDC Jansing Tynsong, Laitumkhrah MDC Antonio War and Mawphlang MDC Lamphrang Blah.
Two first timers Mawkynrew MDC Banteidor Lyngdoh and Sohra MDC Donevan Wanlang (both Congress) are also set to find berth in the EC.
Inside sources also revealed that there is a plan to include one MDC from Ri-Bhoi in the Syiem-led EC. The post might go to either Victor Ranee (Jirang, Congress) or Alibinus Lyngdoh (Umroi, Congress).
Meanwhile, the newly CEM informed that he will forward the list of names of the EMs to the state Governor on Monday.
“I will allot portfolios only after getting the approval from the Governor,” Syiem said.
Grace Mary’s claim: Meanwhile, Nongskhen MDC Grace Mary Kharpuri (Independent) has claimed that she shifted her allegiance to the Congress-led PDF for the sake stability.
“I was with regional alliance (ARPA) till the very last minute. I took my decision to join PDF since there was a tie of 15 MDCs  which might attract imposition of Administrator’s Rule,” Kharpuri said here on Saturday.
“No one would like to see that an AR is imposed in the Council. Therefore, I have taken this decision in the best interest of the council,” the Nongshken independent MDC said.
When asked about finding a place in the EC, she put the ball in CEM’s court saying “It is up to him.”

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.