Literature & More…

Netflix acquires rights to Roald Dahl’s books

Streaming giant Netflix has got the golden ticket as it has acquired the rights to the books of the iconic writer of children’s fiction, Roald Dahl
The deal means the streaming giant will own creations like ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ and ‘The BFG’, reports
Netflix will control what happens to them in publishing as well as TV and film – and receive the royalties.
It will also create numerous spin-off games, stage shows and other live experiences.
The takeover means The Roald Dahl Story Company, which is run by the late author’s grandson Luke Kelly and was previously owned by the family and other employees, will now become a division of Netflix.
In a joint statement, Kelly and Netflix boss Ted Sarandos said they were “joining forces to bring some of the world’s most loved stories to current and future fans in creative new ways”.
The move builds on a deal between the streaming giant and the estate in 2018, allowing it to make animated series based on his books.
Under that agreement, Oscar winner Taika Waititi is currently working on a series based on the world of ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’, while Sony and Working Title are making an adaptation of ‘Matilda The Musical’.
Nineteen TV shows, films, stage shows and live experiences are already in the works.
“These projects opened our eyes to a much more ambitious venture – the creation of a unique universe across animated and live action films and TV, publishing, games, immersive experiences, live theatre, consumer products and more,” Kelly and Sarandos said.
Netflix made the announcement by revealing its name on a golden ticket hidden inside a Willy Wonka chocolate bar wrapper.
The back of the ticket had the words “There is no knowing what we shall see” – a line from ‘James and the Giant Peach’.
“As we bring these timeless tales to more audiences in new formats, we’re committed to maintaining their unique spirit and their universal themes of surprise and kindness, while also sprinkling some fresh magic into the mix,” Kelly and Sarandos added.
Dahl throughout the 1960s, 70s and 80s became known for best-selling children’s books – many of which were later turned into films.
He died at the age of 74 in 1990, and has sold 300 million books around the world, printed in 65 languages.
The Dahl catalogue also includes the likes of ‘Fantastic Mr Fox’, ‘James and the Giant Peach’, ‘The Witches and The Twits’. (IANS)

Indian cricketing history after Independence

As the Indian cricket team prepares for a transition to a new head coach and a change of guard in the shortest format, its story is, in so many ways, the story of the nation itself. It is also a game that has inspired some of the most insightful writing across all genres. “Indian Innings” (Westland) collects some of the finest samples of this writing, thoughtfully curated by Ayaz Memon, one of India’s foremost sports journalists.
It’s all done in stages.
In his own magisterial introduction, Memon traces the development of the sport in a newly independent country up to the 1970s, a decade of inflection points that dramatically altered Indian cricket. From K.N. Prabhu to P.N. Sundaresan and Dicky Rutnagar to Ramachandra Guha and Suresh Menon – those years of famous victories and of the Spin Quartet come alive.
The Prudential Cup victory, the legends that were Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev, the Tied Test of 1986, the influence of television – voices as diverse as Raj Singh Dungarpur, Shashi Tharoor, Anil Dharker and Rajdeep Sardesai – capture the historic 1980s.
The post-1990s years have seen a profusion of cricketing riches for India. The Tendulkar Era, the epic Eden Gardens win in 2001, the 2007 T20 World Cup win, the emergence of the IPL, the 2011 World Cup win, the Dhoni captaincy era, the victory in Australia in 2021 and much more all feature in the essays of some of India’s finest sports writers, like Rohit Brijnath, Sambit Bal and Sharda Ugra.
Equally, the book wrestles with the game’s difficult history. The ‘Summer of 42’ (the score at which India capitulated at Lords in 1974), the match-fixing issue, the Greg Chappell saga, the Lalit Modi affair and more are addressed in pieces by Bishan Singh Bedi, Aniruddha Bahal, Pradeep Magazine, Sriram Veera, among others.
To round off these fine offerings is Clayton Murzello’s carefully prepared ‘Milestones’ section — a superb snapshot view of the last 75 years.
As complete a picture of post-independence cricketing history as one could hope for, this riveting volume promises hours of reading pleasure for every cricket fan.
Ayaz Memon is an Indian journalist, columnist and author who writes on sports, politics, and social issues. A lawyer by qualification, he chose journalism over law, starting his career with Sportsweek and went on to edit newspapers like Mid-Day, Bombay Times and DNA apart from being Editor of Sportsweek and Sports Editor of The Times of India and The Independent at various stages of his 42-year-long career.
Memon has authored the “Wills Book of Excellence: One-Day Cricket” and “Thunder Down Under”, and co-authored “India 50 — The Making of a Nation” released on the 50th anniversary of Indian Independence. He has also been a commentator for sports channels and an analyst on various issues for news channels. (IANS)

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.