In a first, BJP to contest all 60 seats in Meghalaya

Saffron party confident of ‘Modi Power’

SHILLONG, Feb 2: The BJP, which is eager to make its presence felt in Christian-dominated Meghalaya, has decided to contest all 60 seats in the February 27 elections in Meghalaya.
The party, while exuding confidence that people of the state have trust in Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has decided to fight the polls under the campaign tagline of “M-Power” or Modi power.
This is for the first time that the saffron party is contesting all 60 seats in Meghalaya.
In the 2018 Assembly elections, the BJP had contested 47 seats and won two.
BJP secretary and party’s Northeast co-incharge Rituraj Sinha told reporters on Thursday that Modi is the only person who can ensure a corruption-free government and fast track development in the state.
Sinha claimed that people in the state are fed up of corruption and slow pace of development, even though central government schemes have reached them.
Sinha expressed confidence that the saffron party will do well in the state polls and noted that Modi has visited the Northeast region over 50 times in his term. This is more than the visits of all the previous prime ministers put together, he said, adding that Modi has always been to the region with some development package.
As per the list, party president Ernest Mawrie will contest from West Shillong. The two sitting MLAs — AL Hek and Sanbor Shullai — have been given the ticket from their respective constituencies. Former police official Mariahom Kharkrang, who joined BJP last year, got the ticket from North Shillong while BJP vice president Bernard N Marak is taking on Chief Minister Conrad Sangma in South Tura.
Himalaya M Shangpliang, who quit TMC to join BJP, was allotted ticket from Mawsynram, while former NPP leaders Benedic R Marak and Ferlin CA Sangma have been declared as party candidate from Raksamgre and Selsella constituencies, respectively. Independent MLA Samuel Sangma, who resigned as MLA on Thursday morning, was given the ticket from Baghmara.
Former NPP leader Martin M Danggo, who joined BJP on Wednesday, was given the ticket from Ranikor.
The party is fielding six women candidates — Marian Maring from Nongpoh, Riya Sangma from Jirang, Arena Hynniewta from Shella, Darikmen Marshillong from Mawthadraishan, Bity Jyrwa from Mawkyrwat and Ferlin CA Sangma from Selsella.
The party has fielded Spasterlin Nongrem from Rambrai-Jyrngam, Bijoy Kynter from Mawshynrut, Edmund K Sangma from Phulbari, Bakul Hajong from Rajabala, Dipul R Marak from Rangsakona, Boston Marak from Salmanpara, Novembirth Marak from Chokpot, Highlander Kharmalki from Mawkyrwat, Wandonbok Jyrwa from Mawlai and Wankitbok Poshna from East Shillong.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.