Saturday, December 2, 2023

Pak govt cancels diplomatic passports of nine PTI leaders


Share post:

Islamabad, May 27 : The government in Islamabad has cancelled the diplomatic passports of nine Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders.

The PTI leaders are Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar, Azam Swati, Pervaiz Khattak, Ali Amin Gandapur, Farrukh Habib, Aun Abbas, Zartaj Gul and Ali Muhammad Khan, Samaa TV reported.

Moreover, the diplomatic passport of Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, an ally of the Imran Khan-led party, has also been suspended.

The government has launched an intensive crackdown on the PTI, detaining several of its leaders and supporters over the violence and arson perpetrated on May 9 following the arrest of Khan.

Since then, dozens of PTI leaders have quit the party, and politics altogether.(IANS)

Related articles

Everyone expressed themselves irrespective of the situation: Suryakumar Yadav

Raipur, Dec 2: After beating Australia by 20 runs in the fourth T20I to take an unassailable lead...

As Ukraine War drags on, Russia prepares for a fifth Putin term

New Delhi, Dec 2:  Amid the conflict in Ukraine, Russia will head to polls in March 2024 to...

Amid violent protests, Bangla polls may further deepen political fault lines

New Delhi, Dec 2:  With Bangladesh’s parliamentary elections set for early January, the opposition’s push for the resignation...

Trio sentenced for plotting to kill Indian-origin Sikh radio host in New Zealand

Auckland, Dec 2: Three Sikh men have been sentenced in New Zealand for attempted murder of a popular...