Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Chandrababu Naidu likely to take oath as Andhra Pradesh CM on June 9


Share post:



Amaravati, June 4: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N. Chandrababu Naidu is likely to take oath as the new chief minister of Andhra Pradesh on June 9, party sources said.

With the TDP-led alliance heading for a landslide victory with a clear lead in 158 out of 175 Assembly constituencies, Naidu is all set to take over once again reins of power in Andhra Pradesh.

The 74-year-old will be taking oath as the chief minister for the fourth time. He had served as the chief minister of united Andhra Pradesh from 1995 to 2004.

The TDP chief also became the first chief minister of the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh following bifurcation in 2014.

Naidu, whose party suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of the YSR Congress Party in 2019, has bounced back five years later, riding the anti-establishment wave.

His alliance with the Jana Sena Party (JSP) of actor-politician Pawan Kalyan and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) appeared to have played the game changer.

With a clear lead in 131 segments, TDP has secured a huge majority on its own. Naidu himself was leading the Kuppam constituency, which he has been representing since 1989.

Naidu’s son and TDP general secretary Nara Lokesh was also ahead in the Mangalagiri constituency. Lokesh had suffered defeat from the same segment in previous elections.

The Naidu-led party was also leading in 16 out of 25 Lok Sabha constituencies. The tripartite alliance was ahead on 21 seats.

In 2019, TDP could win just 23 Assembly and three Lok Sabha seats.



Related articles

AJP slams Assam govt’s directive to border cops on immigrants

Guwahati, July 16: Regional party Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) has voiced concern over the Assam government’s recent directive...

Kylian Mbappe unveiled as Real Madrid player at Santiago Bernabeu

Madrid, July 16: The day that all Real Madrid fans have yearned for is finally here as Kylian...

Metsola re-elected European Parliament President

Paris, July 16: Maltese politician Roberta Metsola was on Tuesday re-elected as President of the European Parliament until...

Boost to Aatmanirbharta: Govt releases new list of 346 indigenous defence items

New Delhi, July 16: The Ministry of Defence has notified the fifth Positive Indigenisation List (PIL) consisting 346...