Tuesday, July 16, 2024

LS polls: BJP triumphs in Arunachal, Tripura


Share post:


Guwahati, June 4: Ruling party BJP won both Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura even as the saffron party suffered a setback in Manipur.

The favourable outcome for BJP in Arunachal came in the wake of its success in the recent Assembly elections, with Union minister and senior BJP leader Kiren Rijiju defeating Congress leader Nabam Tuki by 100738 votes to bag the Arunachal West seat.

On the other hand, BJP leader Tapir Gao defeated Bosiram Siram of Congress by a margin of 30421 votes            to win the Arunachal East seat.

In Tripura, former chief minister and BJP leader Biplab Kumar Deb defeated Congress’ Asish Kumar Saha by a massive margin of 611578 votes to secure the Tripura West constituency while Kriti Devi Debbarman of BJP got the better of CPI (M) candidate Rajendra Reang by 486819 votes to win the Tripura East seat.

In Mizoram, Richard Vanlalhmangaiha of the state’s ruling party, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), defeated K Vanlalvena of Mizo National Front by 68288 votes.

In Nagaland, S Supongmeren Jamir of Congress defeated Chumben Murry of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) by 50,984 votes.

In Sikkim, riding on a winning performance in the Assembly elections, Sikkim Krantikaru Morcha had the last laugh with its candidate Indra Hang Subba defeating Bharat Basnett of Citizen Action Party to bag the Sikkim seat by 80830 votes.

In Manipur, Alfred Kanngam S Arthur of Congress bagged the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat against Kachui Timothy Zimik of Naga People’s Front (NPF), winning by 85,418 votes.

However, the final result in the Inner Manipur seat was yet to be declared, even as Angomcha Bimol Akoijam of Congress was leading against Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh of BJP by 109801 votes around 9 pm.



Related articles

Kylian Mbappe unveiled as Real Madrid player at Santiago Bernabeu

Madrid, July 16: The day that all Real Madrid fans have yearned for is finally here as Kylian...

Metsola re-elected European Parliament President

Paris, July 16: Maltese politician Roberta Metsola was on Tuesday re-elected as President of the European Parliament until...

Boost to Aatmanirbharta: Govt releases new list of 346 indigenous defence items

New Delhi, July 16: The Ministry of Defence has notified the fifth Positive Indigenisation List (PIL) consisting 346...

Noted agri-scientist Dr Vidyadharan flags importance of water ways in international trade

Guwahati, July 16: Noted agricultural scientist Dr Veena Vidyadharan has outlined the importance of riverine transport and water...