News Capsule


The Annual General Meeting of Our Lady Of the Missions Association will be held at St Mary’s Montessori Hall, Laitumkhrah on September 18 at 4:30 pm which will be followed by a musical programme.


The Kharhunai clan has clarified that Banjop Kharhunai who was arrested in connection with car theft case at Latiumkhrah is not Banjop Kharhunai as he claimed but he is known as John Benneth Kharhunai


Synod Higher Secondary School as part of its jubilee year celebration will host an inter school basketball tournament from September 16 to September 20 . The opening ceremony of the tournament will be held on September 16 at 10 am.


Triptilla A Sangma, Assistant General Secretary All Meghalaya Primary School Teachers Association and M Dutta, president APSTA will leave the state on Sunday to represent All India Primary Teachers Federation as delegates to take part in the 7th educational international Asia Pacifix Regional Conference to be held at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from September 18-20.


The interview for the candidates (B.Ed session 2014) whose names are listed for September 18 has been postponed till September 21 on account of Unitarian Day. Time and venue will remain the same. Interview for September 19 and 20 will be as scheduled, informed principal of College of Teachers Education (PGT).


The All primary teachers’ association (APSTA) will celebrate the 164th death anniversary of (L) Rev Thomas Jones known as the ‘The father of Khasi alphabet’ on September 16 at Dinam Hall in Jaiaw from 9.30 onwards where MP Vincent Pala will be the chief guest.


The department of social welfare will organise a one-day state level workshop on Child rights and development on September 16 at the Yojna Bhavan Auditorium from 10.30am.

Art competition

A month long competition organised by the district society for arts and culture at the district level concluded on September 12 and the valecdictory function was held at the district library auditorium, Mynthong, Jowai.

Office Bearers

The All youth socio-cultural welfare association, Bishnupur has elected new office bearers with Mohan Thapa as the president, Sangeeta Sunar as the vice president, Priyanka Lama as the general secretary, Amit Chettri as the secretary, Deepak Chettri as the organising secretary and Ram Kanwar as the treasurer.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.