Friday, June 14, 2024

Congress accommodates most sitting legislators in ‘list’


Share post:


By Our Reporter

 SHILLONG: Majority of the sitting Congress legislators have been included in the list of candidates for 46 constituencies where the MPCC State Election Committee (SEC) has shortlisted the name of one candidate to be recommended to the Central Election Committee (CEC) headed AICC general secretary in charge Meghalaya Dhaniram Shandil.

Congress party sources on Sunday revealed that four sitting legislators have failed to find a place in the list prepared by the MPCC.

According to party sources, there are some sitting legislators who are still unsure about allotment of ticket which include the likes of Forest and Environment Minister Prestone Tynsong, Rymbai MLA constituency Nehlang Lyngdoh, Rajabala legislator Sayeedullah Nongrum, Mahendraganj MLA Abdus Saleh and Umroi legislator Stanly Wiss Rymbai.

Tynsong along with senior Congress leader KK Dkhar are eyeing the party ticket from Pynursla constituency while Rymbai and prominent coal baron from Jaintia Hills, Ngaitlang Dhar, are engaged in a fight for the party ticket from Umroi.

Meanwhile, Rajabala legislator Nongrum and Mahendraganj MLA Saleh are engaged in a battle of their own for the Congress ticket to contest from Rajabala constituency. Saleh has been forced to seek the ticket from Rajabala since Mahendraganj has been declared a reserved seat following delimitation of the constituencies.

According to party sources, the SEC has constituted a two member panel for Pynursla, Umroi and Rajabala to select the candidate who would be finally recommended for the party ticket.

Despite SEC constituting a two-member panel for Rajabala also, party sources strongly believe that the ticket would be awarded to Saleh considering his close association with Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma.

In the case of Rymbai MLA Nehlang Lyngdoh, party sources said that the legislator is keeping his options open on whether to contest from Umsning or Raliang.

According to party sources, Lyngdoh is in favour of allotment of the party ticket for Raliang to his nephew while he himself is keen to contest from Umsning.

Party sources also said that Lyngdoh is unsure of getting the ticket for Umsning since MPCC President DD Lapang is favouring allotment of the ticket to Congress MDC from Nongpoh Dr Celestine Lyngdoh.

For the six constituencies in Jaintia Hills, party sources revealed that the SEC has decided to recommend the name of Education Minister Prof RC Laloo from Jowai, PHE Minister Shitlang Pale from Khliehriat, sitting legislator Sniawbhalang Dhar from Nartiang, Comingone Ymbon from Sutnga-Saipung and Lakhmen Rymbui from Amlarem.

For the six constituencies of Shillong, the party has decided to recommend the name of Urban Affairs Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh for Shillong East, GAD Minister AL Hek for Pynthorumkhrah, former Urban Affairs Minister Founder S Cajee from Mawlai, former Minister Roshan Warjri from Shillong North, prominent businessman Mohindro Rapsang from Shillong West, Assembly Speaker Charles Pyngrope from Nongthymmai and Mawprem legislator Manas Chaudhuri from Shillong South constituency.

Party sources also stated that the decision to recommend the name of HSPDP legislator Dr Adviser Pariong from Nongstoin has been kept in abeyance.

For the three constituencies in Ri-Bhoi, party sources informed that the SEC has decided to recommend the names of former Chief Minister DD Lapang from Nongpoh, former MDC Barnabas Nangbah from Jirang constituency and former Deputy Assembly Speaker PW Muktieh from Mawhati.

Meanwhile, for the six constituencies in East Khasi Hills, party sources revealed that the names of Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh from Sohiong, KHADC CEM PN Syiem from Mawsynram, sitting legislator RV Lyngdoh from Mylliem, sitting Congress MDC Lambor Malngiang from Nongkrem, KHADC Deputy Chairman Kennedy Khyriem from Mawphlang and Assembly Speaker son David Nongrum from Mawryngkneng have been recommended by the SEC.

With two prominent aspirants Leston Wanswett and Jropsing in the fray for the Shella ticket, party sources informed that the SEC has constitute a two-member panel to finalise the name of the selected candidate.

For the constituencies in West Khasi Hills, party sources said that the SEC has recommended the names of Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh from Mawkyrwat and former Assembly Speaker MM Danggo from Ranikor.

According to party sources, the SEC has recommended the names of some new entrants into the party in three constituencies of West Khasi Hills which includes Prof Eureka Lyngdoh from Mairang, Methodius Dkhar from Mawshynrut and prominent businessman Kimfa Marbaniang from Rambrai-Jyrngam.

For Mawthadraishan constituency, party sources informed that the SEC has referred the issue to the two-members panel for recommending the name since there two strong contenders – West Khasi Hills District Congress President Boldness L Nongrum and former Minister Irin Lyngdoh – vying for the ticket

For the constituencies in Garo Hills, party sources said that the SEC has decided to recommend the names of Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma from Ampati, Chief Minister’s wife Dikanchi D Shira from Mahendraganj, MPCC working president Deborah C Marak from Williamnagar, Chief Minister’s younger brother Zenith Sangma from Rangsakona, former Chief Minister Salseng C Marak from Baghmara, suspended NCP legislator Adolf Lu Hitler R Marak from Bajengdoba and Power Minister Abu Taher Mondal from Phulbari.

At the same time, party sources revealed that the SEC has also decided to recommend the names of Community and Rural Development Minister Saleng M Sangma from Songsak, former Minister FW Momin from Resulbelpara, former legislator Billy Kid Sangma from Tura North and Noverfield Marak from Tura South.

In connection with Dadenggre constituency, party sources revealed that the SEC has referred the matter to a two-member panel since there are two prominent ticket aspirants – sitting Independent legislator from Rongram Ismail R Marak (now an associate member of the Congress) and GHADC CEM PK Sangma.

According to party sources, the SEC has also kept the decision to recommend the candidates name for Tikrikila, Chokpot, Rongra, Dalu, Gambegre, Salmanpara, Selsella, Raksamgre, Kharkutta, Mendipathar and Rongjeng in abeyance for ‘certain’ reasons.


Related articles

WI secure Super 8 spot

Kiwis’ T20 World Cup campaign is all but over Tarouba, June 13: Sherfane Rutherford smashed a career-best unbeaten half-century...

Williamson believes NZ need to keep getting better

Tarouba, June 13: Following his side’s disappointing 13-run loss against West Indies in the T20 World Cup 2024,...

Afghans eye win for Super 8 entry; USA look to go past Ireland

Tarouba, June 13: Afghanistan will eye another all-round effort to crush an inexperienced Papua New Guinea here and...

Shillong Lajong FC to conduct U-13 open trials for boys

By Our Reporter Shillong, June 13: Shillong Lajong Football Club is thrilled to announce open trials exclusively for local...