AICC to finalise list of candidates on Wednesday

NEW DELHI, Jan 22: The central election committee of the AICC will meet on Wednesday to finalise the candidates for the assembly polls in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland.
Headed by the AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge, the CEC has Rahul Gandhi, Dr Manmohan Singh, AK Antony, KC Venugopal and others as its members. Mukul Wasnik, the senior observer for Meghalaya and the two other NE states, is also a member of the CEC.
MPCC president Vincent H Pala and other state Congress leaders are arriving in the national capital on Tuesday ahead of the all-important meeting where the CEC will select the candidates and the official list will be formally approved by the party president.
Pala had recently stated that the Congress will contest 55 out of the 60 seats on offer. The party has already announced the names of its candidates from 40 seats.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.