Thursday, April 18, 2024

Ghulam Nabi Azad to contest from Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat


Share post:


Srinagar, April 3:  Former Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) Chief Minister, Ghulam Nabi Azad, will contest the Lok Sabha election from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency.

After leaving the Congress, ex-CM Azad formed his own political party called the Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP).

Talking to IANS, DPAP sources said that Azad will contest from the Anantnag-Rajouri seat.

Azad was defeated in 2014 by Dr. Jitendra Singh of the BJP in the Kathua-Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency.

Azad’s lieutenant, GM Saroori has already filed his papers for the Kathua-Udhampur constituency where Dr. Jitendra Singh is seeking re-election for the third term.

Senior Gujjar/Bakarwal leader, Mian Altaf Ahmad is fighting elections for the National Conference (NC) from the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency.

There are 18,30294 voters including 930,379 males, 988,888 females and 27 third gender who will cast their votes at 2,338 polling stations on May 7.



Related articles

Model polling station inaugurated near Indo-Pak international border in J&K

Shillong, April 17: In a pioneering effort to enhance public awareness and understanding of the voting process, the...

Aditi Rao Hydari’s b’day wish for ‘manicorn’ Siddharth: ‘Endless laughter, happiness’

Shillong, April 19: Actress Aditi Rao Hydari on Wednesday posted an adorable birthday wish for her fiance-actor Siddharth,...

Open to anything, says Microsoft worker who was laid off after 3 decades of service

Shillong, April 17: An employee of Microsoft, who was terminated from his position in February after working for...

Patient with heart disease dies after surgery delay amid medical vacuum

Shillong, April 17: A patient with heart disease in her 60s in South Korea died last month while...