Sunday, May 19, 2024

Final phase Assam polls: 60 candidates file nominations for 4 LS seats


Share post:


Guwahati, April 19: A total of 60 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the third and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections to be held in four parliamentary seats of Assam on May 7, 2024.

The four parliamentary seats going to the hustings in the third phase include Guwahati, Kokrajhar (ST), Barpeta and Dhubri constituencies.

On Friday, the last date for submitting the nomination papers for the third and concluding phase of polls in the state, as many as 30 candidates filed nomination papers. Ten of them have filed papers for the Dhubri seat, seven for the Kokrajhar seat, nine for the Barpeta seat and four for the Guwahati seat.

BJP candidate for the key Guwahati seat, Bijuli Kalita Medhi, accompanied by several party leaders and supporters, was among those who submitted her nomination papers before the Kamrup (Metro) district commissioner here on Friday.

Notably, as many as 10 candidates, including Congress’ Mira Borthakur Goswami, are contesting for the Guwahati Lok Sabha seat.

The scrutiny of the nominations will be done on April 20, 2024 while the last day for withdrawal of candidature has been fixed on April 22, 2024.

It may be recalled that 61 candidates are in the fray for the second phase polls to be held in five constituencies on April 26, 2024.


Related articles

RCB beat CSK by 27 runs to secure final playoff spot

Bengaluru, May 18: Royal Challengers Bengaluru defeated defending champions Chennai Super Kings by 27 runs to secure the...

SRH aiming for second spot in points table with win over PBKS

Hyderabad, May 18: High on confidence after making their first playoffs in three years, Sunrisers Hyderabad will aim...

RR aim to snap losing streak as they face table toppers KKR

Guwahati, May 18: Rajasthan Royals will be desperate to snap their four-match losing streak and finish in the...

Bayer Leverkusen complete unbeaten Bundesliga season

BERLIN, May 18: League champion Bayer Leverkusen became the first team to complete a Bundesliga season undefeated on...