Friday, July 19, 2024

PM Modi scores hat-trick from Varanasi, wins by 1,52,513 votes


Share post:



Varanasi (UP), June 4:  Prime Minister Narendra Modi has won the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat for a third time.

The Prime Minister defeated his rival — Ajay Rai of Congress with over 1.5 lakh votes.

PM Modi polled 6,12,970 votes, according to the Election Commission data.

Bahujan Samaj Party’s Ather Jamal Lari, finished third and remained nearly 5.8 lakh votes behind the Prime Minister.

Ajay Rai — who has contested and lost each of the past three general elections from Varanasi, claimed that his victory lay in the results.

In 2019, there were a total of six candidates in the fray against PM Modi from Varanasi, which was his launchpad to the national political scene in 2014. PM Modi bagged 63.6 per cent of the votes, and after him, the second-highest vote-getter was Shalini Yadav of the Samajwadi Party.

In 2014, PM Modi got 56.37 per cent of the votes and his winning margin was 3.72 lakh. He had defeated Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal, who was his main rival.



Related articles

Argentina’s vice-president defends Enzo Fernandez

BUENOS AIRES, July 18: Argentina’s vice-president Victoria Villarruel defended forward Enzo Fernandez and the national football team as...

Organisers hopeful JN Stadium will be ready for Durand Cup

SHILLONG, July 18: The prestigious Durand Cup is being organised for the first time in the state, even...

Turao, NESLET Centre-ko songchina GSMC dabia

SHILLONG: Turao, State Level Eligiblility Test (SLET) Centre-B-ko kulichina gita Garoland State Movement Committee (GSMC) CEC, H.Q. Tura-ni...

Lionel Messi asked to apologize for Argentina players’ racist chants

LONDON, July 18: Lionel Messi faced calls to apologize for racist chants made by Argentina’s players after they...