Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Ravindra Jadeja follows Kohli, Rohit into T20Is retirement


Share post:


Bridgetown, June 30: Left-arm spin all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja said he is retiring from T20Is after winning Men’s T20 World Cup title at the Kensington Oval on Saturday. Jadeja was a member of the playing eleven when India beat South Africa by seven runs to win its second T20 World Cup title after beating South Africa by seven runs.
He now follows Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli into retiring from T20Is after achieving elusive trophy glory in Barbados, where India became the first team to win the title as an unbeaten side. Jadeja had missed 2022 edition of the tournament due to a knee injury, and wrote on Instagram he will continue representing the country in ODIs & Tests.“With a heart full of gratitude, I bid farewell to T20 internationals. Like a steadfast horse galloping with pride, I’ve always given my best for my country and will continue to do so in other formats.”
“Winning the T20 World Cup was a dream come true, a pinnacle of my T20 International career. Thank you for the memories, the cheers, and the unwavering support. Jai hind Ravindrasinh Jadeja,” he said.
Since his debut in 2009 against Sri Lanka, Jadeja played 74 T20Is for India, making 515 runs at an average of 21.45 and strike-rate of 127.16, apart from taking 28 catches on the field and earning a reputation of being a swift fielder at point region. With the ball, he picked 54 wickets at an average of 29.85 and economy rate of 7.13.
In the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup, Jadeja didn’t hit his straps as an all-rounder: making 35 runs in five innings, taking three catches and picking just one wicket with his left-arm spin bowling. But just like Rohit and Kohli, Jadeja signs off from the format as a World Cup winner in his sixth time of featuring in the global tournament.The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has paid heartfelt tribute to two stalwarts of Indian cricket, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, on their T20Is retirement after the historic seven-run win over South Africa in the T20 World Cup final on Saturday.
After the conclusion of the match, Kohli announced that it was his final T20I game and was later joined by captain Rohit, who also bid adieu to the format in the post-match press conference. “An Era Comes To An End in T20Is! The Aura Will Stay Forever! 2 Legends of the game. Thank you, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli,” BCCI wrote on X.
Both Kohli and Rohit had blistering T20I careers for India and the former represented the country in each of the T20 World Cups so far after making his debut against South Africa in 2007.
Kohli’s T20 journey began in June 2010. Over 14 years, he featured in 125 T20Is, amassing 4188 runs, which included one century and 38 half-centuries. His relentless dedication and passion for the game made him the second-highest run-getter in T20Is, just behind his teammate Rohit Sharma.Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Jadeja on his ‘exceptional’ career.
“Dear @imjadeja, You have performed exceptionally as an all-rounder. Cricket lovers admire your stylish stroke play, spin and superb fielding. Thank you for the enthralling T20 performances over the years. My best wishes for your endeavours ahead,” read the tweet by PM Modi on X.
Jadeja has played 74 T20 Internationals for India and racked up 515 runs at a strike rate of 127.16 whilst racking up 54 wickets at an economy of 7.13. Unlike Rohit and Kohli, Jadeja took to Instagram to close the curtains on his glorious career. (IANS)


Related articles

Review of Income Tax Act announced in Union Budget

New Delhi, July 23: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman announced a review of the Income Tax Act 1961 in...

Centre announces one crore houses for urban poor

New Delhi, July 23: Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Tuesday proposed an allocation of Rs 2.2 lakh...

Union Budget gives major push to job creation with focus on youth, women & farmers

New Delhi, July 23: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Monday presented the Union Budget 2024 in Parliament on...

Assam, Sikkim among states to get flood devastation relief: FM Sitharaman

New Delhi, July 23: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman announced financial assistance for the Himalayan states of Himachal Pradesh,...