DC polls: M’laya sans Garo Hills votes today

HILLONG: Over six lakh voters in Khasi Hills and more than two lakh electorates in Jaintia Hills will decide the fate of 212 candidates on Monday when they exercise their franchise in the elections to the KHADC and JHADC to be held from 7 am till 4 pm.

Elaborate security arrangements have been put in place for the smooth conduct of the elections which will be held under the newly delimited constituencies.

East Khasi Hills Deputy Commissioner and Election officer for the KHADC elections, Sanjay Goyal on Sunday said preparations for the election is on track and polling officers have also started reaching their destinations, especially those deputed in far flung areas of the State.

Goyal also asserted that adequate security arrangements have been made in all the polling stations as per the needs, even as the State Government has declared Monday as a holiday to allow the people to exercise their franchise.

Out of the 1,148 polling stations for the KHADC, 142 have been notified as hypersensitive while 188 others have been marked as sensitive. Out of 344 polling stations in Jaintia Hills, 72 have been marked hypersensitive while 136 have been declared sensitive.

While most of the regional political parties are harping on the issue of Inner Line Permit to woo the voters, the Congress has played the development card to attract the voters’ attention.

A total number of 123 candidates, including 12 women, are contesting in the KHADC polls while 89 candidates including two women candidates will fight it out in the JHADC election.

Counting of votes will be held on Thursday from 8 am.

Election factfile

KHADC – 29 seats
No. of candidates
Congress: 29
NCP: 4
NPP: 1
Independents: 27
Total: 123
Total female candidates: 12
Smallest constituency:  Laban-Mawprem (10,768 voters)
Biggest:  Mawlai (36885 voters)
Electors:  6,68,398
Total polling stations: 1148
Hypersensitive polling stations: 142
Sensitive  polling stations: 188

JHADC – 29 seats

No. of candidates
Congress: 29
NCP: 3
UDP: 16
Independents: 36
Total:  89
Total female candidates: 2
Smallest constituency: Saipung (4539 voters)
Biggest constituency: Rymbai-Khliehriat (11934 voters)
Electors: 2,09,217
Total polling stations: 344
Hypersensitive polling stations: 72
Sensitive polling stations: 136

Fate of nine sitting MLAs to be decided today

HDR Lyngdoh (Congress): Nongspung-Sohiong
Ardent Basaiawmoit (HSPDP): Nongkrem
Sanbor Shullai (NCP): Laban-Mawprem
Remington Pyngrope (UDP): Mawkynrew
Metbah Lyngdoh (UDP): Mairang-Nongkhlaw
Phlastingwell Pangniang (HSPDP): Rambrai-Jyrngam
Pynshngainlang Syiem (Congress): Mawsynram
Titosstarwell Chyne (UDP): Sohra
Stephanson Mukhim (Independent): War-East

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.