Security panel yet to decide on next DGP

SHILLONG: With just a week left for acting DGP S K Jain to retire, the State Security Commission is yet to firm up its mind on the next Meghalaya Police chief.
It was on August 31 that the first meeting of the State Security Commission was held chaired by Chief Minister Mukul Sangma to discuss the selection of the new DGP.
Jain, who will retire on October 31, has been officiating as the DGP after Rajiv Mehta retried on June 30.
Last month, Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh said that the consent of all the shortlisted candidates will be taken before finalizing the new police chief due to the past experience when B. Kezom who was appointed for the post, did not turn up in 2012.
As per the seniority list, the five eligible senior IPS officers for the post of next DGP are Y.C. Modi (1984 batch), P.S. Purohit (1985 batch), R.P. Agrawal (1986 batch), who are all on deputation to the Centre, Raghvendra Awasthi (1985 batch) who is the current DG (Civil Defence and Home Guards) and S.B. Singh (1986 batch), who is at present holding the charge of Additional DGP in charge Law and Order.

error: Content is protected !!