Kyntimon, Pholendro win 3rd MSOA 10K Run

By Our Reporter

Shillong, June 25: Kyntimon Marwein and N Pholendro Singh emerged winners of the Shillong 10K Run in the women’s and men’s events respectively, organised after a gap of two years owing to the Covid-19 pandemic.
Over 700 runners took part in the race, which began and culminated at the JN Sports Complex, Polo. The race was held to celebrate International Olympic Day, which is observed annually on 23 June to mark the foundation of the International Olympic Committee in 1894. Races of 10km in length are held all over the world on the nearest Saturday as part of the occasion.
N Pholendro Singh crossed the finish line first with a time of 32 minutes and 21 seconds, in a tight finish that saw him beat Hepstarly Lyngkhoi (32:23) and Wolbetstar Nongsiej (32:24) in second and third respectively.
The women’s race was won by Kyntimon Marwein (41:15), followed by Marqueenless Ramsiej (42:20) and Bandasharai Marwein (44:06).
There were also special prizes for veterans with Kmoin Wahlang stealing the show in the women’s event. The 74-year-old ran the Mumbai Marathon in 2019. She crossed the finish line in a time of 57 minutes, 16 seconds, ahead of 54-year-old Melina Nonglang (1:02:40) and 55-year-old Trisina Wanniang (1:05:24).
In the men’s veterans category, just one second separated 57-year-old Swonding Mawlong (40:54) and 50-year-old Badon Singh Tham (40:55), while Pynshngainlang Dkhar, also 50, finished the race in 41:25 minutes.
Later, the MSOA formally opened the association’s new office. Eight members of state sports associations who have been elected as members of national federations were also felicitated for their accomplishments – John F Kharshiing (vice-president, National Rifle Association of India), Paia B War Nongbri (vice-president, Archery Federation of India), Finely L Pariat (association vice-president, Athletics Federation of India), Larry Kharpran (joint secretary, Boxing Federation of India), Pynbianglang Laloo (executive member, Badminton Association of India), Donny Ranee (executive member, Wushu Association of India), Gaurav Bajaj (member of the Governing Council of the Indian Golf Union) and Neil Sootinck (member of the Governing Body of the National Rifle Association of India).

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.