Friday, April 19, 2024

Sohra Combine CC, Mawryngkneng CC register wins


Share post:


EKH District League T20 Cricket Tournament

By Our Reporter

Shillong, April 2: In the latest fixtures of the East Khasi Hills Cricket Association District League T20 Cricket Tournament 2024, enthusiasts witnessed thrilling showdowns as teams battled it out for supremacy.
In the first match, Mawryngkneng CC faced off against Mawphlang CC in an intense showdown. Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Mawryngkneng CC posted a formidable total of 176/6 in their allotted 20 overs. Apsharailang Mawthoh was the star performer, notching up an impressive 86 runs from 51 deliveries. Banbhalang Nongsiej shone with the ball, claiming 2 wickets for 11 runs in his spell.
In response, Mawphlang CC fell short, managing only 159/7 in their 20 overs, despite Mawlynnai Wahlang’s valiant effort of scoring 43 runs off 36 balls. Guiding Star Kharsati’s bowling brilliance, with figures of 2 wickets for 25 runs in 4 overs, further bolstered Mawryngkneng CC’s dominance. Consequently, Mawryngkneng CC emerged victorious by a margin of 17 runs, with Apsharailang Mawthoh rightfully earning the title of Player of the Match.
In the second match, Sohra Combine CC clashed with Marbisu CC in another gripping encounter. Marbisu CC, having won the toss, elected to bat first and set a target of 102/5 in their 20 overs, with Shalenbor Kurbah leading the charge with a score of 31 runs from 40 deliveries.
Mangara Diengdoh showcased his bowling prowess, claiming 1 wicket for 7 runs in his spell. In response, Sohra Combine CC chased down the target with ease, reaching 103/4 in just 13.1 overs. Mangara Diengdoh starred once again, this time with the bat, scoring a blistering 39 runs off 24 balls. Mansuk Kurbah’s bowling effort of 2 wickets for 9 runs in 2 overs further solidified Sohra Combine CC’s victory. Consequently, Sohra Combine CC secured a comfortable win by 6 wickets, with Jona Lyngdoh Nonglait being named Player of the Match for his stellar performance.
With the conclusion of the league stage, the tournament now progresses to the semi-finals, which are scheduled to take place on April 4, 2024.
The first semi-final will witness a showdown between Laitjem CC and Hurdles CC from Mawsynram, while the second semi-final will feature Nongdawah CC locking horns with Cricket Lovers CC.


Related articles

Can’t risk paralysis just to get bail: CM Kejriwal to Delhi court on ED’s allegations of deliberately increasing sugar levels

New Delhi, April 19: Delhi Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal, on Friday accused the ED of misrepresenting the diet...

UK urges ‘de-escalation’ after reported Israeli strike on Iran

London, April 19: The British government is stressing the need for “de-escalation and moderation” amid reports of a...

BJP expecting its ‘best show in South’ on back of PM Modi’s popularity, says HM Amit Shah

New Delhi, April 19 (IANS) As the first phase of General Elections began for 102 Lok Sabha constituencies...

Tripura: Around 34 pc voter turnout recorded in simultaneous polls

Agartala, April 19:  The polling percentage in Tripura till 11 a.m. was 34.6 per cent for Tripura West...