Acquire skills to add value to degrees : VC, Hyderabad University at USTM Convocation

1305 receive degrees, honorary D.Litt. to Manas Chaudhuri, honorary D.Sc. to Dr N N Dutta

Guwahati, Sep 20:  ,“A university degree is no longer a passage to certain employment. There is a need to add new skills with latest technologies. Innovation and creativity are the keywords of our times”, said Prof B. J. Rao, Vice Chancellor of University of Hyderabad.

Delivering the convocation address at the 8th Convocation of the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya (USTM) here today, Prof. Rao called upon the students try empowering themselves with skilled in tune with the latest technologies emerging in their respective fields to add value to their basic university degrees.

He also exhorted upon the students to realize their responsibilities towards the country and the society at large.

The Convocation of the USTM was held here today in the presence of a galaxy of Vice Chancellors, heads of institutions and dignitaries.

Altogether 1305 graduates were awarded degrees, out of which 15 scholars were awarded Ph.D. degrees, 775 students were awarded Post Graduate degrees and 515 students were awarded Undergraduate degrees.

Honorary Doctorate of Science (D.Sc.) was conferred upon Dr. N. N. Dutta, Founder and Chancellor, Assam Down Town University while Padma Shri Manas Chaudhuri, former Editor of The Shillong Times and former Education Minister of Meghalaya was presented with Honorary D.Litt. degree by the Governor of Meghalaya, Satya Pal Malik who is the  Visitor of the USTM.  The Governor also presided over the convocation held at the central auditorium of the university.

Education Minister of Meghalaya, Lahkmen Rymbui and a host of Vice Chancellors graced the occasion as Guests of Honour. The distinguished dignitaries present in the Convocation included, Dr. B. J. Rao, VC, University of Hyderabad; Dr. N. Lokendra Singh, VC, Manipur University; Dr. R. M. Pant, VC, Assam University, Silchar; Prof. Saket Kushwaha, VC, Rajiv Gandhi University, Aunachal Pradesh and Dr. V. K. Jain, former VC, Tezpur University, apart from Shri Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor and Prof GD Sharma, VC, USTM.

Addressing the gathering, Meghalaya Governor Satya Pal Malik said, “The university is an outcome of its founder Mahbubul Hoque’s vision to change lives of the people of the region by empowering them with education”.

He congratulated all the awardees including Padma Shri Manas Chaudhuri and Dr NN Dutta, the recipients of the Hon.  D.Litt & D. Sc.  Respectively and thanked USTM for giving recognition to great works done by the awardees.

The Chancellor of USTM, Mahbubul Hoque welcoming all the participants said, “We aspire to become a world class university and appeal to all the stakeholders to join us in our endeavour to transform this university into a world class institution and participate in the nation-building process”. He also expressed his gratefulness to the Government of Meghalaya for its help in the creation of USTM.

Earlier, the University report was presented by the Vice Chancellor of USTM, Prof G. D. Sharma. This was followed by presentation award of degrees and gold medals. Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Best PG Student award went to Ms Ajungla Kundang, MA Rural Development and PA Sangma Best UG student award went to Ms Yashodhara Goswami, B. Sc. Biotechnology.

Apart from this, 24 gold medals were awarded to the best Post Graduates of various departments while 21 gold medals were given away to the best undergraduate students from different departments.

Dr. N. N. Dutta, the recipient of the Honorary D.Sc. degree has enormous contribution in the field of healthcare, research and academic administration specially in establishing higher educational institutions in the North East. Padma Shri Manas Chaudhuri is well known for his immense contribution in the fields of news-media, political reforms and social transformation.

The convocation began with a grand Academic Procession which was participated by the Registrar of the University, Academic Council members, members of Board of Governors, Deans of different schools, Heads of different Departments and the Award recipients. The Convocation came to close with administration of oath and the signing of the National Anthem.

Get real time updates directly on your device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.